Local Government 101: The difference between city and county services

Learn about where you can go for specific services between the City of Asheville and Buncombe County.

Buncombe County courthouse and Asheville City Hall

Let’s shine some light on the difference between city and county resources.

Photo by AVLtoday

Table of Contents

Class is in session, Asheville. We’re teaching AVL GOV 101, where we break down different aspects of our local government so we can become engaged citizens who create healthier (and more effective) communities.

For today’s lesson, we’re discussing the differences between city and county services — because let’s be honest, they can get muddled sometimes.

🏛️ Buncombe County

Buncombe County is one of 100 counties in North Carolina, and it encompasses the the City of Asheville and the towns of Biltmore Forest, Black Mountain, Montreat, Weaverville, and Woodfin. Apart from these recognized municipalities, the County also includes townships like Leicester and Fairview.

When it comes to countywide services, you can expect to find those related to health + welfare, social systems, libraries, and criminal justice programs. On the County’s website, you can:

🌆 City of Asheville

Within Asheville’s boundaries, the City is responsible for services like police + fire, parks, public works, water, animal control, and waste. On the City’s website, you can:

  • Find an interactive map of greenways, trash and recycling collection schedules, parks + rec activities and programs
  • Learn about large-scale development, emergency preparedness, how + where to compost
  • Report sidewalk safety issues, traffic concerns, crime
  • Pay invoices for city services + fees, parking citations, development or code permits

So, how was that for a civic lesson? Let us know what other areas of our local government you’d like us to explore next.